[SIGCIS-Members] Computer History Museum Prize 2015 - Call for Submissions

david nofre d.nofre at gmail.com
Wed Mar 11 01:00:58 PDT 2015

Dear all,

The 2015 call for submissions for our Computer History Museum book prize
is online at http://sigcis.org/chmprize and pasted below.

Please spread the word. Also remember that there is a three year window.
This window this year is for books with first publication in English in
2012, 2013, or 2014.

We are particularly glad that Joy Rankin has agreed to join the jury
this year. Please address any questions to this year’s chair, Joseph


David Nofre


    Computer History Museum Prize

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an
outstanding book in the history of computing broadly conceived,
published during the prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded
by SIGCIS, the Special Interest Group for Computers, Information and
Society. SIGCIS is part of the Society for the History of Technology. 

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest
from the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and
entrepreneur best known for his work to develop and promote the packet
switching approach on which modern networks are built. Baran was a
longtime supporter of work on the history of information technology and
named the prize to celebrate the contributions of the Computer History
Museum to that field. 

_*2015 Call for Submissions*_

Books published in 2012-2014 are eligible for the 2015 award. Books in
translation are eligible for three years following the date of their
publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested
members of the computer history community are invited to nominate books.
Send one copy of the nominated title to each of the committee members
listed below. To be considered, book submissions must be postmarked by
May 15, 2015. For more information, please contact Prof. Joseph
November, the 2015 prize committee chair, at november at sc.edu
<mailto:november at sc.edu>. Current information about the prize, including
the most recent call and a list of previous winners, may always be found
at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize.


_*2015 Prize Committee Members*_

  * David Nofre
    Kleyn Proffijtlaan 47
    Oegstgeest 2343DB
    The Netherlands
  * Joseph A. November (2015 Chair)
    Associate Professor and McCausland Fellow
    Department of History
    University of South Carolina
    817 Henderson Street
    Gambrell Hall, Room 245
    Columbia, SC 29208
  * Joy Rankin
    27 Wheeler St. #323
    Cambridge, MA 02138


_*Previous Winners*_

  * 2009: Christophe Lécuyer <http://sigcis.org/node/89>,/Making Silicon
    Valley: Innovation and the Growth of High Tech, 1930-1970/ (MIT
    Press, 2006)
  * 2010: Atsushi Akera <http://sigcis.org/node/133>,/Calculating a
    Natural World: Scientists, Engineers, and Computers During the Rise
    of U.S. Cold War Research/ (MIT Press, 2007)
  * 2011: Paul N. Edwards <http://sigcis.org/node/320>, /A Vast Machine:
    Computer Models, Climate Data, and the Politics of Global
    Warming/ (MIT Press, 2010)
  * 2012: Eden Medina <http://www.sigcis.org/node/365>,/Cybernetic
    Revolutionaries:Technology and Politics in Allende's Chile /(MIT
    Press, 2011)
  * 2013: Joseph A. Novembe <http://www.sigcis.org/node/383>r/,
    Biomedical Computing: Digitizing Life in the United States/ (Johns
    Hopkins University Press, 2012)
  * 2014: Janet Abbate <http://www.sigcis.org/node/388>, /Recoding
    Gender: Women’s Changing Participation in Computing /(MIT Press, 2012)

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.sigcis.org/pipermail/members-sigcis.org/attachments/20150311/744532bf/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the Members mailing list