[SIGCIS-Members] 2014 Computer History Museum Prize (Oustanding Book), 15 May deadline

Thomas Haigh thaigh at computer.org
Thu Mar 27 21:45:37 PDT 2014

Hello everyone,


The 2014 call for submissions for our Computer History Museum book prize is
online at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize and pasted below. Please spread the
word. Also remember that there is a three year window, so even if you
nominated a book without success last year it could well pay off to resubmit
it. This window this year is for books with first publication in English in
2011, 2012, or 2013. We are particularly glad that last year’s winner, Joe
November, has agreed to join the jury this year. Please address any
questions to this year’s chair, David Nofre.




Computer History Museum Prize

2014 Call for Submissions

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding
book in the history of computing broadly conceived, published during the
prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded by SIGCIS, the Special
Interest Group for Computers, Information and Society. SIGCIS is part of the
Society for the History of Technology. 

Books published in 2011-2013 are eligible for the 2014 award. Books in
translation are eligible for three years following the date of their
publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested members of
the computer history community are invited to nominate books. Send one copy
of the nominated title to each of the committee members listed below. To be
considered, book submissions must be postmarked by 15 May 2014 For more
information, please contact the prize committee chair. Current information
about the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous
winners, may always be found at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize.

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest from
the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and entrepreneur
best known for his work to develop and promote the packet switching approach
on which modern networks are built. Baran was a longtime supporter of work
on the history of information technology and named the prize to celebrate
the contributions of the Computer History Museum to that field. 

2014 Prize Committee Members

Rebecca Slayton: Lecturer in Public Polic, Stanford University, 616 Serra
Street, Stanford, CA 94305-6055. rslayton at stanford.edu

David Nofre (chair): Research Affiliate, Centre d'Estudis d'Història de la
Ciència at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Send books to him at Kleyn
Proffijtlaan 47, 2343DB Oegstgeest, Netherlands d.nofre at gmail.com

Joseph A. November: Associate Professor, University of South Carolina,
Department of History, 817 Henderson St., Gambrell Hall, Room 245, Columbia,
SC 29208. november at sc.edu

Previous Winners

*	2009: Christophe Lécuyer <http://www.sigcis.org/node/89> , Making
Silicon Valley: Innovation and the Growth of High Tech, 1930-1970 (MIT
Press, 2006)
*	2010: Atsushi Akera <http://www.sigcis.org/node/133> , Calculating a
Natural World: Scientists, Engineers, and Computers During the Rise of U.S.
Cold War Research (MIT Press, 2007)
*	2011: <http://www.sigcis.org/node/320>  Paul N. Edwards, A Vast
Machine: Computer Models, Climate Data, and the Politics of Global Warming
(MIT Press, 2010).
*	2012: Eden Medina <http://www.sigcis.org/node/365> , Cybernetic
Revolutionaries:Technology and Politics in Allende's Chile (MIT Press,
*	2013: Joseph A. Novembe <http://www.sigcis.org/node/383> r.
Biomedical Computing: Digitizing Life in the United States (Johns Hopkins
University Press, 2012


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.sigcis.org/pipermail/members-sigcis.org/attachments/20140327/b3bdb854/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the Members mailing list