[SIGCIS-Members] Computer History Museum Prize (outstanding book) - nominations please

Thomas Haigh thaigh at computer.org
Fri Mar 8 05:40:48 PST 2013

Hello everyone,

Below and at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize please find the latest call for
nominations for our book prize, given each year to an outstanding book in
the history of computing. The 2013 prize will be awarded at this year’s
SIGCIS Workshop for a book on the history of computing, broadly conceived,
published for the first time in English in 2012, 2011 or 2010. It is well
worth resubmitting books that are still eligible even if they did not win in
the last two years. 

Best wishes,


Computer History Museum Prize

The Computer History Museum Prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding
book in the history of computing broadly conceived, published during the
prior three years. The prize of $1,000 is awarded by SIGCIS, the Special
Interest Group for Computers, Information and Society. SIGCIS is part of the
Society for the History of Technology. 

In 2012 the prize was endowed in perpetuity through a generous bequest from
the estate of Paul Baran, a legendary computer innovator and entrepreneur
best known for his work to develop and promote the packet switching approach
on which modern networks are built. Baran was a longtime supporter of work
on the history of information technology and named the prize to celebrate
the contributions of the Computer History Museum to that field.

 2013 Call for Submissions

Books published in 2010-2012 are eligible for the 2013 award. Books in
translation are eligible for three years following the date of their
publication in English. Publishers, authors, and other interested members of
the computer history community are invited to nominate books. Send one copy
of the nominated title to each of the committee members listed below. To be
considered, book submissions must be postmarked by 31 April 2013. For more
information, please contact the prize committee chair. Current information
about the prize, including the most recent call and a list of previous
winners, may always be found at http://www.sigcis.org/chmprize.

2013 Prize Committee Members

Rebecca Slayton (chair): Lecturer in Public Polic, Stanford University, 616
Serra Street, Stanford, CA 94305-6055. rslayton at stanford.edu
David Nofre: Research Affiliate, Centre d'Estudis d'Història de la Ciència
at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona. Send books to him at Kleyn
Proffijtlaan 47, 2343DB Oegstgeest, Netherlands d.nofre at gmail.com
Jonathan Coopersmith: Associate Professor Department of History, Texas A&M
University College Station, TX 77843-4326 j-coopersmith at neo.tamu.edu

Previous Winners

    2009: Christophe Lécuyer, Making Silicon Valley: Innovation and the
Growth of High Tech, 1930-1970 (MIT Press, 2006)
    2010: Atsushi Akera, Calculating a Natural World: Scientists, Engineers,
and Computers During the Rise of U.S. Cold War Research (MIT Press, 2007)
    2011: Paul N. Edwards, A Vast Machine: Computer Models, Climate Data,
and the Politics of Global Warming (MIT Press, 2010).
    2012: Eden Medina, Cybernetic Revolutionaries:Technology and Politics in
Allende's Chile (MIT Press, 2011).

More information about the Members mailing list