[SIGCIS-Members] Digital.Visual.Material Symposium (May 26-28, 2021)

Theodora Vardouli, Prof. theodora.vardouli at mcgill.ca
Thu May 13 07:05:05 PDT 2021


Dear SIGCIS,

We are thrilled to invite you to the virtual symposium Digital.Visual.Material<https://www.lattice.space/topics/digital-visual-material> (May 26-28, 2021), which explores the cross-disciplinary construction of a computational imaginary of design through scholarly presentations and first-hand accounts on pioneering efforts to transform computers into visual and creative media.

Below is an abridged version of the symposium program, which you can view in full on lattice.space<https://www.lattice.space/>, a new platform for critical and creative research at the nexus of design and computation. On the website you will also find details about registration and live-streaming of the event.

The Digital.Visual.Material symposium is linked with the forthcoming exhibition Vers un imaginaire numérique<https://www.lattice.space/topics/vers-un-imaginaire-numerique> that will take place September 15-November 7, 2021 at the Centre de Design de l’UQAM in Montreal. The symposium is supported by the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture, McGill University and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Looking forward to seeing you later in May!

Warm wishes,
Theodora Vardouli and Daniel Cardoso Llach
info at lattice.space

[Text  Description automatically generated]<https://www.lattice.space/>

DAY 1: SURFACES
May 26, 9:30AM – 5:30PM EST
As Below, So Above: Surface and Depth in the Computational Image, Jacob Gaboury<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/jacob-gaboury-2> (UC Berkeley)
Materialities of Shiny Surfacing, Akshita Sivakumar<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/akshita-sivakumar> (UC San Diego)
Your New Mnemotechnics, John May<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/john-may> (Harvard University)
Designers Redesign Robotics, Mario Carpo<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/mario-carpo> (The Bartlett, UCL)
With an introduction by the organizers Theodora Vardouli and Daniel Cardoso Llach, and an introduction by session chair Michael Osman<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/michael-osman> (UCLA)

Conversations: George Stiny<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/george-stiny-2>
Roundtable: To be announced

See detailed schedule<https://www.lattice.space/observatory/surfaces>
Register for this session<https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcrcumgqDooHNOqCJ65kogYmZve9NlzDu94>

-------------------------

DAY 2: STRUCTURES
May 27, 10AM – 5:30PM EST
On Mathematical Aesthetics, Alma Steingart<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/alma-steingart-2> (Columbia University)
Processing Models, Modelling Processes for the HfG Ulm ca. 1952, Anna-Maria Meister<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/anna-maria-meister> (TU Darmstadt)
>From Paper to Code: Episodes in the history of computer mapping in Great Britain, Moa Carlsson<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/moa-carlsson> (ESALA)
With an introduction by session chair Alessandra Ponte<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/alessandra-ponte> (UdeM)

Conversations: Leslie Mezei<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/leslie-mezei> & Frieder Nake<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/frieder-nake>
Conversations: Rachel Strickland<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/rachel-strickland> & Paul Pangaro<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/paul-pangaro>

See detailed schedule<https://www.lattice.space/observatory/structures>
Register for this session<https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwtf-Cspj8qGNxz_pTdoUBp6jCAifzR4bM6>

-------------------------

DAY 3: PROCESSES
May 28, 10AM – 4:30PM EST
Feminist Interventions in the West Coast: The case of Video Art and Computer Graphics, Gabriela Aceves-Sepúlveda<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/gabriela-aceves-sepulveda> (Simon Fraser University)
Topology, Crystals, and a Multitude of Futures, David Theodore<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/david-theodore> (McGill University)
T-Square, Spacewar!, and Interfaces of Early Spatial Computing, Ranjodh Singh Dhaliwal<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/singh-dhaliwal> (UC Davis)
With an introduction by session chair Olga Touloumi<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/olga-touloumi> (Bard College)

Conversations: Elizabeth Vander Zaag<https://www.lattice.space/contributors/elizabeth-vander-zaag>

See detailed schedule<https://www.lattice.space/observatory/processes>
Register for this session<https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZApce2vrz8jHdL3NSGAFwgfGCIc8eQn-o9Y>



-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.sigcis.org/pipermail/members-sigcis.org/attachments/20210513/287bf83c/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image001.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 20514 bytes
Desc: image001.jpg
URL: <http://lists.sigcis.org/pipermail/members-sigcis.org/attachments/20210513/287bf83c/attachment.jpg>


More information about the Members mailing list