[SIGCIS-Members] SHOT International Scholar Program

Medina, Eden edenm at indiana.edu
Tue Mar 18 08:37:50 PDT 2008

Dear colleagues,

The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) is currently seeking applicants for the International Scholar Program.  If you are not eligible to apply, please help us spread the word.  We welcome applications from scholars at all levels who reside outside of the U.S. and Western Europe.

Best wishes,
Eden Medina


SHOT International Scholar Program

Each year the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) selects up
to four International Scholars for a two-year term. International
Scholars receive a regular SHOT membership at no cost during their
appointment and a subscription to the journal Technology and Culture.
International Scholars also receive the highest priority when applying
for travel funding to attend the SHOT annual meeting.

Applicants must reside and work in underrepresented countries --
meaning outside of the U.S. and Western Europe -- at the time of their
selection. The program accepts applications from graduate students up
through senior scholars.

International Scholars shall act as ambassadors for the Society in
their countries and regions, both by informing the Society about the
state and developments of the history of technology in their regions,
and by helping to disseminate information about the Society and its

At each annual meeting, SHOT will host a special gathering to welcome
current international scholars, introduce them to SHOT officers, and
discuss the intellectual dimensions of the field that pertain to
international research.

To apply to the SHOT International Scholar Program, please send a copy
of your CV and a letter to EACH member of the committee listed below
and to SHOT secretary Amy Bix at shot at iastate.edu. Letters must
* why you would like to be an International Scholar,
* how you plan to advance the mission of the International Scholar
Program (see http://www.historyoftechnology.org/awards/scholars.html),
* the current state of history of technology research in your home
country and your home insitution, and
* how your research will enrich existing knowledge in the field.

The deadline for nominations is April 15.

2008 Committee on International Scholars

Eden Medina (chair)
School of Informatics
Indiana University
901 E. 10th Street, Room 305
Bloomington, IN 47408
eden.medina at gmail.com

Henrik Bjorck
Göteborgs Universitet
History of Ideas and Theory of Science
Box 200
S-405 30 Göteborg, Sweden
henrik.bjorck at idehist.gu.se

Thomas Kaiserfeld
Department of History of Science and Technology
Royal Institute of Technology,
S-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
thomas.kaiserfeld at mdh.se

Valentina Fava
European University Institute
Max Weber programme
Villa La Fonte
via delle Fontanelle, 10
50016, San Domenico di Fiesole (FI)
valentina.fava at eui.eu

Joel Wolfe
Dept. of History
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Herter Hall, 161 Presidents Drive
Amherst, Massachusetts 01003-9312
jwolfe at history.umass.edu

Harro Maat
Wageningen University
Hollandseweg 1
Wageningen 6706 KN
harro.maat at wur.nl

Eden Medina, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Informatics
Adjunct Assistant Professor of History
School of Informatics
Indiana University, Bloomington
Tel: (812) 856-1871 | Fax: (812) 856-1995
edenm at indiana.edu<mailto:edenm at indiana.edu>

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.sigcis.org/pipermail/members-sigcis.org/attachments/20080318/ca057670/attachment-0001.htm>

More information about the Members mailing list